By: Chris Pappis                                   

AHEPA members and the AHEPA Rochester Foundation, gathered January 12 at the AHEPA 67 apartments in Webster, NY for their annual presentation of the 2019 scholarships. Since 1992, the Flower City AHEPA Chapter has proudly awarded more than $171,250 to local students who have earned top honors. It was an enthusiastic reception for the families and students who received various levels of scholastic support as they begin their next journey. Awards were issued from the Dean Zutes Memorial fund, each for $1,500 to Nicole Dulieu, Maria Hristodoulou, Evangelia Anita Letendre, and Peter Jeffrey Letendre.

In addition, a $500 scholarship from the Papapanu-Dedetsinas Memorial Fund was awarded to Jonathan Templeton. The Panagiota E. Tonias scholarship for $500 went to Ana Eveleigh and the Drs. Stamatia Destounis and Manuel Matos scholarship for $500 was awarded to Olivia Templeton.

$500 AHEPA Chapter scholarships were also awarded to Christian Eveleigh, Alexandra Hristodoulou, and Anastasia Pinopoulos.

The AHEPA scholarship program for 2020 is open to all high school graduates & undergraduates and graduate college students from Holy Spirit Church and Annunciation Church parishes in Rochester, NY. It was a great day for the “E” in AHEPA, taking center stage in Rochester. Empire State District 6 Lodge executive officers praised Flower City #67 for their contributions to education.

Photo: (L-R) Nicole Dulieu, Fr. James Berends, Holy Spirit GOC, Jonathan Templeton, Olivia Templeton, Dennis Kiriazides, PCP, Maria Hristodoulou, Nick Evevsky, Chapter President, and Michael Papapanu, AHEPA Rochester Foundation President

Dennis Kiriazides