Monday, December 4, 2023

      Subscribe Now!




Hellenic News
Hellenic News
The copyrights for these articles are owned by HNA. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner. The opinions expressed by our authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HNA and its representatives.

Latest articles


World Monuments Fund (WMF) will honor the Stavros Niarchos Foundation and Tomas Maier, Creative Director of Bottega Veneta, at the twenty-ninth annual Hadrian Gala at The Plaza on Monday, October 24, 2016.


Joshua David, President of World Monuments Fund, said: “World Monuments Fund is thrilled to honor the Stavros Niarchos Foundation and Tomas Maier for significant and inspiring accomplishments in the field of cultural heritage preservation.”


Thanks for reading Hellenic News of America

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation will receive the Hadrian Award in recognition of the extraordinary philanthropic legacy begun by its founder, the late Stavros S. Niarchos. The legacy includes the restoration and conservation of many of Greece’s ancient and iconic structures, the protection of newer landmark buildings, and the maintenance of religious sanctuaries around the world. In 2016, the Foundation celebrates its 20th anniversary with the completion of the magnificent Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center, in Athens, designed by Renzo Piano.


Tomas Maier, the Creative Director of Bottega Veneta, will receive the Watch Award in recognition of his inspiring contributions to the field of preservation and his advocacy for endangered Modernist architecture. A life-long architecture enthusiast, Maier has led his company’s Modernism initiative to raise international awareness about the threats facing Japan’s mid-century landmarks, many of which are at risk from natural disaster and development. Maier’s advocacy, activism, and leadership is helping to ensure that these extraordinary works of post-war architecture—structures that fuse Japanese tradition with modern design—are preserved for the benefit of future generations.


WMF’s 2016 Hadrian Gala is hosted by Dinner Chairs Fernanda M. Kellogg, Monika McLennan, Irene Moscahlaidis, and Jack Shear.


Tickets to the gala are available for purchase:


About the Hadrian Gala:

Each year, World Monuments Fund honors distinguished individuals for their accomplishments and leadership on behalf of heritage preservation with the Hadrian Award and the Watch Award at a gala evening in the fall.


Since 1988, World Monuments Fund has presented the Hadrian Award to recognize leadership that advances the understanding, appreciation, and preservation of the world’s art and architecture. The Hadrian Award was inspired by the Roman Emperor Hadrian (a. d. 76–138), a brilliant commander and administrator and a great patron of the arts. Referred to as “the restorer,” Hadrian traveled across the considerable breadth of the empire, presiding over programs that included rebuilding the Pantheon in Rome and completing the Temple of Olympian Zeus in Athens, which had been begun some five centuries earlier.


The Watch Award, introduced in 2011, was created to recognize extraordinary individual activism and achievements that keep historic sites vital in the contemporary world.


Previous Hadrian Award honorees: Her Majesty Queen Sofía of Spain (2015); Mica Ertegün (2014); Roberto Hernández Ramírez (2013); Kenneth I. Chenault, Chairman and CEO, American Express (2012); Jo Carole and Ronald S. Lauder (2011); Ratan Tata and the Tata Family (2010); David Rockefeller Jr. (2009); Houghton, Doreen and Graeme Freeman (2008); Rahmi Koç and the Koç Family (2007); His Highness The Maharaja Gaj Singh II of Marwar-Jodhpur (2006); The Right Honourable John Julius, The Viscount Norwich (2005); Carlos Slim Helú (2004); Eugene V. Thaw (2003); Hélène and Michel David-Weill (2002); The Honorable James D. Wolfensohn (2001); Harvey Golub (2000); Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover K.G., Hon. Simon Sainsbury, and Sir Timothy Sainsbury (1999); Richard Hampton Jenrette (1998); Phyllis Lambert (1997); His Highness The Aga Khan (1996); Lord Rothschild (1995); David Rockefeller, Sr. (1994); Dominique de Ménil (1993); Marella and Giovanni Agnelli (1992); Mrs. Vincent Astor (1991); His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales (1990); Paul Mellon (1989); and Carlo De Benedetti (1988).


Previous Watch Award honorees: Her Excellency Shaikha Mai bint Mohammed Al Khalifa (2015); Ellsworth Kelly (2014); Andrew B. Cogan and Knoll (2013); The Duke of Devonshire KCVO, CBE DL (2012); Marcella Pérez de Cuéllar (2011).


About World Monuments Fund

From America’s Route 66 to China’s Forbidden City, World Monuments Fund’s mission is to protect against the loss of the world’s architectural heritage, including the built environment, the artistic elements that enhance it, and the cultural traditions that it sustains. WMF builds global partnerships to conserve key cultural sites in response to urgent threats and broadens public understanding about the central importance of heritage in our lives. Its work makes historic places accessible and sustainable, builds and replenishes skills needed to care for our common heritage, and communicates the benefits to the global public. Headquartered in the iconic Empire State Building in New York City, WMF has offices and affiliates worldwide. Visit, or follow WMF on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


The copyrights for these articles are owned by the Hellenic News of America. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner. The opinions expressed by our authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Hellenic News of America and its representatives.

Get Access Now!