Subscribe Now!


Saturday, January 22, 2022

Seven to Receive AHEPA National Scholar-Athlete Awards

Hellenic News
Hellenic News
The copyrights for these articles are owned by HNA. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner. The opinions expressed by our authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HNA and its representatives.

Latest articles

Συνεργασία ΤΗΕΟΝ SENSORS με την αμερικανική EOTECH

Η ελληνική εταιρία οργάνων νυχτερινής όρασης THEON SENSORS προχώρησε σε στρατηγική συνεργασία με την αμερικανική εταιρία EOTECH, κατασκευαστή των καλύτερων στον κόσμο ολογραφικών σκοπευτικών...

93 pct of people who died of Covid in Greece were either unvaccinated or had not received a third dose, says health expert

The number of new coronavirus infections in Greece is subsiding, member of the Health Ministry's Covid committee Vana Papaevangelou said at a regular live...

Government approves licences for seaplane infrastructure on Corfu, Paxi

The islands of Corfu and Paxi will soon be able to allow seaplane flights to land there after Deputy Infrastructure and Transport Minister Michalis...

Συνεργασία Συλλόγου “Κωστής Παλαμάς” με το Λούβρο για κοινές δράσεις εν όψει των Ολυμπιακών του 2024

Δημιουργική και συμβολική επίσκεψη, πραγματοποίησε ο Όμιλος και Σύλλογος Καλών Τεχνών Πάτρας «Κωστής Παλαμάς» στην Πνευματική Γαλλία, εν όψει της διοργάνωσης των Ολυμπιακών Αγώνων 2024...

“Greek Coast Guard saves lives in the Aegean with bravery and respect for international law”

"The officers of the Coast Guard operate not just with bravery and determination but also with respect for the international law and with priority...

Painter Alekos Fassianos dies

Internationally acclaimed Greek painter Alekos Fassianos died late on Sunday at the age of 87. The painter, whose work marked an entire era, had...

The Times: The case for returning the Elgin Marbles to Athens has become compelling

The case for returning the Elgin Marbles to Athens has become compelling, according to an article published in newspaper 'The Times' on Wednesday. "The Elgin...

President attends unveiling of design plans for Pontian Greek center at former airport of Elliniko

The Pontian Greeks have experienced a long, bright, and painful history including a systematically planned genocide, Greek President Katerina Sakellaropoulou said on Tuesday, at...

French-Greek filmmaker Romain Gavras’ new work ‘Gener8ion’ presented at the Onassis Foundation on January 15

French-Greek filmmaker Romain Gavras is presenting his new work "Gener8ion" at the Onassis Foundation in Athens on January 15 through February 27. Gavras, who has...

Dimitria Festival logo wins silver for Thessaloniki designers at IDA, Los Angeles

The design logo for the 56th Dimitria Festival in Thessaloniki won a silver award at the annual International Design Awards (IDA) held in Los...



Seven to Receive AHEPA National Scholar-Athlete Awards


Thanks for reading Hellenic News of America

WASHINGTON, DC – The National Athletic Department of the American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA), a leading membership-based association for the nation’s millions of American citizens of Greek heritage and Philhellenes, has announced seven 2014 National Scholar-Athlete Honorees.


“The seven recipients of our National Scholar-Athlete Awards are truly outstanding examples of what it means to be a scholar-athlete,” Supreme President Anthony Kouzounis and Selection Committee Chairman Gregory Stamos said. “Although they achieved athletic excellence, these young men and women also embody the ancient Hellenic ideal of ‘sound mind and solid body’ as they also excelled in the classroom and in their respective communities. We are thrilled to announce these recipients and congratulate them on their well-deserved accolades.”


About the Student-Athlete Honorees

Katerina Weikert, Englewood, Ohio, and Louis Zingas, Clinton Township, Mich., will each receive the John Peter Vlahos Outstanding High School Athlete Award. Weikert was first-team All-Ohio and Midstate League Player of the Year in soccer. She will study engineering at Cornell University. Zingas was All-State in both track and field and soccer. He will attend Brown University.

Chris Georgiadis, Mars, Pa., will receive the AHEPA Athletics Booster Club Outstanding High School Athlete Award. Georgiadis won multiple swimming championships. He will attend Ashland University in the fall.


Nikolas Stylianou, Concord, N.C., will receive the PSP Franklin R. Manios Scholar-Athlete and Service Award. Stylianou was All-state in soccer and participated in the Olympic Development Soccer Program. He will attend North Carolina State University in the fall.

Jacqueline Setas, Eastland, Mich., will receive the PSP Louis G. Manesiotis Scholar-Athlete Award. Setas was the number one ranked junior golfer in Michigan, a four-time All-State selection, and the 2013 Michigan State Champion. She will attend Michigan State University in the fall.

Vasiliki Dadiotis, Greenwood Village, Colo., will receive the Past Supreme Athletic Director Dr. Monthe N. Kofos Scholar-Athlete Award. Dadiotis starred in high school basketball and was the GOYA Most Valuable Player at the 2014 Dallas Tournament. She will attend the University of Colorado next year.

Jason McCormick, Tallahassee, Fla., will receive the Dr. Kimon Doukas Collegiate Scholar-Athlete Award. McCormick is a member of the Florida State University Swim Team. He won the Silver Medal at the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, and he was named to the 2013-14 ACC All-Academic Team. McCormick was a five-time Florida State Champion in high school and the 2012 State Swimmer of the Year. 

Supreme Athletic Director Louis G. Atsavas added, “We sincerely thank the benefactors of these scholarships, without whose support these outstanding scholar-athletes could not be properly recognized by the Greek American community. We congratulate Brother Gregory Stamos and his committee for reviewing more than 50 applications and choosing the finest of an outstanding class of candidates this year. Our future goals are to increase funding for these scholarships and to create additional opportunities to assist more deserving candidates in attending college and launching their careers.”

The awards will be presented at the 92nd AHEPA Supreme Convention, July 24, 2014, New Orleans, La.

Founded in 1922 in Atlanta, Georgia, to protect individuals from the evils of bigotry and discrimination, AHEPA is the largest and oldest grassroots association of American citizens of Greek heritage and Philhellenes with more than 400 chapters across the United States, Canada, and Europe. The mission of AHEPA is to promote the ancient Greek ideals of Education, Philanthropy, Civic Responsibility, and Family and Individual Excellence through community service and volunteerism.

The copyrights for these articles are owned by the Hellenic News of America. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner. The opinions expressed by our authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Hellenic News of America and its representatives.

Get Access Now!