NEW YORK – The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America announces the decision of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros, after much consideration and in collaboration with His Eminences’ advisors, to create the following Archdiocesan Regions:

Region 1: Manhattan and Bronx, overseen by the V. Rev. Chrysostomos Gilbert.  The list of Parishes is as follows: Annunciation (Manhattan), Sts. Anargyroi (Manhattan), St. Barbara (Manhattan), St. Eleftherios (Manhattan), St. George – St. Demetrios (Manhattan), St. George (Manhattan), St. Gerasimos (Manhattan), St. John the Baptist (Manhattan), St. Spyridon (Manhattan), Zoodochos Peghe (Bronx), St. Petros (Bronx),

Region 2: Astoria, Brooklyn and Staten Island, overseen by the V. Rev. Nektarios Papazafiropoulos. The list of Parishes is as follows: St. Demetrios and Sts. Catherine and George (Astoria), Holy Cross (Brooklyn), Three Hierarchs (Brooklyn), Sts. Constantine and Helen (Brooklyn), Kimisis tis Theotokou (Brooklyn), and Holy Trinity – St. Nicholas (Staten Island),

Region 3: Long Island, Flushing and Jamaica, overseen by His Grace Bishop Apostolos of Medeia, Chief Secretary of the Holy Eparchial Synod. The list of Parishes is as follows: St. Nicholas (Flushing), St. Demetrios (Jamaica), Sts. Constantine and Helen (Jackson Heights), Transfiguration (Corona), Holy Cross (Whitestone), St. Paul (Hempstead), Holy Trinity (Hicksville), Archangel Michael (Port Washington), Holy Resurrection (Brookville), Kimisis tis Theotokou (Island Park), St. Demetrios (Merrick), St. Markella (Wantagh), St. Paraskevi (Greenlawn), St. Nicholas (West Babylon), Assumption (Port Jefferson), St. John (Blue Point), Transfiguration (Mattituck), and Kimisis tis Theotokou (Southampton).

Region 4: Westchester and Connecticut, overseen by Rev. Protopresbyter Peter Orfanakos.  The list of Parishes is as follows: Prophet Elias (Yonkers), Holy Trinity (New Rochelle), Church of Our Saviour (Rye), Assumption (Danbury), Holy Trinity (Waterbury), Holy Trinity (Bridgeport), St. Demetrios (Bristol), St. George (New Britain), St. George (Hartford), St. George (Norwalk), St. Barbara (Orange), Archangels (Stamford), Annunciation (Stamford), St. Basil (New Haven) and Three Hierarchs (Storrs).

Region 5: Upstate New York, overseen by Rev. Protopresbyter Constantine Sitaras.  The list of Parishes is as follows: St. George (Schenectady), St. Basil (Troy), St. Sophia (Albany), Assumption (Windham), St. George (Kingston), Kimisis tis Theotokou (Poughkeepsie), St. Nicholas (Newburgh), Holy Cross (Middletown), Sts. Constantine and Helen (West Nyack).

The newly appointed Vicars will have the responsibility, effective immediately, to be responsible for and maintain proper Ecclesiastical order and progress within the Parishes assigned to them. In addition, they will be tasked with dealing with day-to-day issues that arise, in conjunction with the Chancellor of the Archdiocese, the Rev. Protopresbyter Fr. Andreas Vithoulkas, and His Eminence the Archbishop; except in the case of His Grace Bishop Apostolos of Medeia who will be reporting directly to His Eminence, the Archbishop.

His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros welcomed everyone to his office today, Thursday, February 6, 2020, and officially announced to them their appointments. He wished them much success in their endeavor and encouraged them to serve with sacrificial love the faithful Orthodox Christians, the Parish Councils and the Reverend Clergy. The appointed vicars thanked His Eminence for their appointment and the honor bestowed upon them and they promised they will fervently work with all their energies in their new responsibilities assigned to them.