By: Barbara Goldsmith, Special to the Hellenic News of America


For the third consecutive year, Powerjournalist Markos Papadatos triumphed in the “Best of Long Island” competition. He scored yet another win the “Arts and Entertainment” category this year, where he bested some very stiff competition. He won “Best Blogger” for the second consecutive year, and one year prior to that, in 2017, Papadatos’ @Powerjournalist handle was named the “Best Twitter Account from Long Island,” and rightfully so.

Ever grateful, Papadatos realized that it takes more than an army to accomplish this milestone, so he thanked everybody who helped him along the way.

Thank you to the following people:

Cindy Vasko, NyCarole Luca, Dawn Fisher, Jasmin LaGuerta, AnnMarie Orlando Giglio, Angela Miller, Nancy Venti Clark, Loreno Mayer, Sothia Chhoeum, Angelica, Theresa and Diane Schneider, Shawn O’Connor and The Burbs, photographer Daniel Mitchell, Barbara and Arlene Goldsmith, Denise Cirolia,  Bubba Sparks, Bruce Caldwell and the track and field community, Linda Prefontaine, Marla McKenna, Bryan Floyd, Nicole Cappiello, Elena Kay, Carie Karavas, Gabriel Herring, Matt and Ashlee Williams, Mrs. Theodora Leperides, Mason Siegel, Mark Mancino, Jenny Bohler, Susan Niles, Martha Moore, Professor Doreen Schmitt, Billy Dufresne, Jeff Timmons of 98 Degrees, Anthony Langone and everybody at Marbaloo, Taelor Owen, Avery King, Elise Anderson, Pauline Esposito, Salina Solomon, Alex and Olga Moschos, Karen Moss, Melani Rogers, Teresa Ann, Paul Armento, Lou Peragine, Nick Rice, Michael Catalano, Edvin Ortega, Steve Bitterman, Shari Bitterman, Kate Richardson, Lynn Tinsey and everybody at Richlynn Group, Phil Smith, Bianca Bucaram Foty, Gene Englese, Mike Savage, Demetra Lecourezos, Aubrey Wollett, Marisa Mathew, Donna Pucciarelli, Herman Canosa, Spiro Markatos, Christos Pavlatos, Eric Hafker and Maria Cuchifrita and family, Dawn Andrew, Alex Andrew, Todd Greenstein, Toly Rod, Mariella Stockmal, Steve Stockmal, Stephen Rosenbluth, Jennifer Robin Rosenbluth, Jason DeLeo, Cathy Santana Dunn, Efren Santana, Kelly Karavites,  Peter Marks, KellyAnn Kelly, Jackie Wright, Rebecca Yako, Deborah Palmo, Danielle Benya, Jane DiGioia, Cheri Berry, Michael Stover, Carol Stover, Gigi Dimichino, Angela Ferazzoli, Lori Murciano, Sammi Rae Murciano, Virginia Barnett, Carol Barnett, Cheryl Dobbins, Priscilla Arena, Felisha Suggs, Jay Lane, Sheri Barnett, Chrissy Antosca, Claudine Webb, Stacey, Adrienne Brown, Lorraine DeFlorio Nichols, Michael and Brooke Sarysz, Billy Holland and Cathy Nakos, Joseph Benegbi, Alexandrea Fortin, Bernadette and Jenn Pesco, Elizabeth Waldman Frazier, Rosalie Tuchman, Ria Kavallieratou, Dani-elle Kleha, Mickey Jack Cones, Oliver McClellan, Kim Vanderhofe, Cindi Braff, T.J. Clemente, Kristen La Perla, Michael Zhonga, Dominiki Damoulianos, Willie D. Stevens, Lauren Johnson, Kyle Stevens, Danny Romano, Jonathan Schulman, Kerri and Philip Barbera, Kristine Kennedy, Michael Beas, Lorena Cajes, Ms. Kathleen Connell, Andrew Vagenas, Clint Morris, Tim Stark, Andrea Bruno-Buttafuoco, Tiffany Moriarty, Kimberly Jones Buckner Warren, magician Jorgos Pampoukidis and Sevi Pampoukidou, Gary Hahn, Donna Kessinger, Petros Arzoumanidis, Carolann Hynes, Deb Quimby, Lindsay Fellows, Wendy-Wilson Mchenry, Mike Foland, Noreen Onorato, Jillian Onorato, Missy Ducharme, Don Murry Grubbs, Kay Waggoner Burney, Scott Adkins, Joey Amato, Florence Vasilatos Zuder, Donna Sullivan, Dale Ann Bradley, Shannon Danielle Cones, Sarah Elder Lyons, Elizabeth Lyons, Carrie Farley, Dan Miller, Loretta Cassidy Andrus, Gina Miller, Melissa Dragich-Cordero, Lisa Polizzi, Laura Desantis-Olsson, Michele Frantzeskos, Hillary Epstein, Kat Smith, Colleen, Maggie Houlehan and Yvette Shearer, Sharon Hershberg, Edvin Ortega, David Buckner, Chris Jehnert, Karen Gale, Jo Weil, Donna DeMeo Wicelinksi, Maria Giokaris, Jake Basden, Cristian Camilo Castro, Nancy Vazquez, Valerie, Will Kelly, Kali Chan, Mike DelGuidice and everybody at Big Shot, Ellen McAlpin, Lauren Davidson, Nancy Anastasio, Christopher and Jessica Anastasio, Caitlyn Dwyer, Dixie Owen, Evelyn Alberto, Alyssa Mary, Amber Ferrari, Chris Ferrari, Michael Dempsey, Linda Rohe, Leslie Slender, Erica Gerard, Amy Connerley, Price Adam, Nikos Arholekas, David “Dibby” Warren and The Marshall Tucker Band, Ed Solorzano, Kirsten Schubert, and Kristin Loretta, Paula Tountasakis, George Birge and Cody Cooper from Waterloo Revival, Evgenia Kotroni, Andrew Persaud, Candice Sirota, Jerry and Louise Bruno, Alex Blake, Claire Cook, Kristin Palmer, and Jolyn Matsumuro, among others.

The Powerjournalist added, “As always, a special thank you to Digital Journal, the Greek-American community, Aphrodite and Paul Kotrotsios of the Hellenic News of America, Armada Music (Lisanne, Carmen, Nicole and Justine), Doug Gray and The Marshall Tucker Band, Coastal Entertainment, Neraki Greek Mediterranean Grill, GreeKrave, Queens College, Saint Francis Prep High School, Mulcahy’s Pub and Concert Hall (Ricky Cappiello, Tim Murray and Bobby Karounos), The Paramount, and my mother, Effie, and family for all of their support.”

“Most importantly, I want to thank every single person I ever interviewed in life,” he underscored. “I love telling everybody’s stories, and I am humbled that they trust me to share their stories with the rest of the world.”

“Also, if I forgot anybody, I am so sorry…. but please know that you are all appreciated very much. I am beyond grateful for you all,” Papadatos said, graciously.

On April 2, Papadatos celebrated this recognition at the 2019 “Best of Long Island” winners reception, which was held at The Inn at New Hyde Park on Long Island, New York. His beloved mother, Effie, was also in attendance, dressed in an elegant purple dress and was beaming with contentment.


Photo Credit: Cindy Vasko